https://doi.org/10.24928/2017/0348

Integrating Delivery of a Large Hospital Complex

Dean Reed1, Howard Ashcraft2, Atul Khanzode3, Martin Fischer4, Leonardo Rischmoller5 & Peter Berg6

1Organizer for Lean and Integrated Project Delivery, DPR Construction, Redwood City, CA. deanr@dpr.com
2Partner, Hanson Bridgett, San Francisco, CA, hashcraft@hansonbridgett.com
3Director for Technology and Innovation, DPR Construction, Redwood City, CA, atulk@dpr.com
4Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and (by Courtesy) Computer Science and Director, Center for Integrated Facility Engineering (CIFE), Stanford University, Stanford, CA, fischer@stanford.edu
5Business Process Analyst, DPR Construction, Redwood City, CA, leonardor@dpr.com
6Project Executive, DPR Construction, Phoenix, AZ, peterb@dpr.com

Abstract

Building a high performing building requires project teams to integrate their knowledge, their organization and their information, leveraging metrics, models (energy, BIM, cost and schedule), co-location and collaboration, and production management. This model, the “Simple Framework for Integrating Project Delivery” was validated in action on the UCSF Mission Bay Hospitals project. The senior project leaders created an integrated community that employed Lean and Virtual Design and Construction methods to create solutions in the best interest of the project.

Keywords

Simple Framework, integration, leadership, collaboration, capabilities

Files

Reference

Reed, D. , Ashcraft, H. , Khanzode, A. , Fischer, M. , Rischmoller, L. & Berg, P. 2017, 'Integrating Delivery of a Large Hospital Complex' In:, 25th Annual Conference of the International Group for Lean Construction. Heraklion, Greece, 9-12 Jul 2017. pp 201-208

Download: BibTeX | RIS Format